FMP Unofficial Proposal

For my Final Major Project I will create an experimental film, utilising POV shots throughout. I will try to create the most immersive experience possible showing a small narrative that involves the camera as a representation of the viewer, existing in a constructed reality. All actors within the film will therefore act to the camera itself.

I’m not yet sure what the narrative of the film will be but I will be taking inspiration from the video game series ‘Half Life’ and the TV show Peep Show.

As far as equipment is concerned, I have to find a balance between size and quality. For handheld shots obviously the handy-cam would be the easiest and most comfortable to use, but the quality will be poor. A PDX10 is bigger but perhaps still adequate for the task, while a Z1 or Z5 may be too big and heavy to move around with the agility required.

Actors I will find through a casting call on the internet. I may need around three people but I’m sure it wont be hard to find good actors to help me out as the shoot wont last longer than a week overall maximum.

Budget for the film isn’t something I really have to think about because so far I wont be doing anything within the film that raises the funds in anyway.

Distribution is easy enough to find over the internet, I can upload my video to a website dedicated to the film and then submit the film to any festivals or competitions that are running during mid 2011.

Advancing the experimentation of the film further – I recently read about an experiment tried in 1957 in which a viewer was sat down watching footage of a bike ride and with each corresponding part of the video came a scent that related to the scene. For example, freshly cut grass as the viewer could see themselves riding through fields. I might try to think of doing something similar to this in my video to really set it out from anything else.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment